Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Closing connections issue...novice out of his depth

Status
Not open for further replies.

countyweb

Technical User
Nov 7, 2005
GB
Hi All,
I'm a novice at .net and am not so familiar with VB.net.
I've inherited some code which is causing the connection pool to overload.
This code below is what I think is causing the problem...it doesn't seem to close the connection.
The commented out lines I have tried to add but is casues an error.
Does anyone know how I can alter this code to close this connection. I suspect that because the actual result of the datareader is being returned that I won't be able to close the connection as control has passed out of the function.

Can anyone offer any advice?

protected function runDR(byval sqlStr as String) as SqlClient.SqlDataReader
Dim objConn As SqlConnection
Dim objCmd As SqlCommand
Dim myException As SqlException
Dim i as Int16
Try
objConn = New SqlConnection(connString)
objCmd = New SqlCommand(sqlStr, objConn)
objCmd.Connection.Open()
Return objCmd.ExecuteReader
Catch ex As SqlException
Return Nothing
'Finally
'objCmd.Dispose()
'objConn.Close()
End Try
End Function

Close before Dispose (hey that's kinda nifty)

The command has the connection as an object, so you are probably getting a Null Ref / Object Does not Exist error.

You also want the Return statement after the finally, otherwise it won't execute the close.

-Sometimes the answer to your question is the hack that works