Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Clients are not updating when the policy on the win2003 Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

atracy

Programmer
Sep 30, 2003
US
Hi! I'm new to windows 2003 Server. I opened mmc.exe, and added the Group Policy Object Editor as a snap-in. One of the choices when adding the Group Policy Object Editor is to select the Local computer as the Group Policy Object. I chose to select the browse button and selected the Default Domain Controllers Policy instead. I enabled the Hide Log Off option policy to test it out. I also changed the time the policies get updated from 90 minutes to 0 minutes so it would update the client every 7 seconds. I even waited the 90 minutes just to make sure the client got the message that it was supposed to look for the updates every 7 seconds. Well, after all that work and waiting. I still have my Log Off button on my client.

Server configuration. I have my server setup with the following roles (brand new server installation). It is a Active Directory domain controller and a File Server. I have the IP addresses fixed and the DNS is turned off for security reasons. The client is a fresh installation of windows XP and has been successfully joined to the domain. I'm using a user account I setup on the domain called 'testuser' with user rights to log into the client machine.

So there you have it. My thoughts are that I'm using the wrong Group Object Policy Editor. And if the Default Domain Controllers Policy is not the correct policy, which policy should I be changing to manipulate the clients correctly?