Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CLEAN Function in Excel 2000 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ben1637

Instructor
Nov 13, 2002
US
Hi Everybody:

I have a spreadsheet in Excel 2000 that has data imported from another system (maybe Oracle?) and I am trying to sort one of the columns. Although the data looks fine at quick glance, when I click on the individual cells, I can see up in the formula bar that many of the cells have an apostrophe before the numbers. This character is, obviously, affecting my abilities to sort.

I discovered the CLEAN function, but I have never used it before. Do you think this will solve my problem? If so, can you please help me generate a formula - the Help feature has been completely UNhelpful?!

My cell should read something like:
AL0051
But when I click in the formula bar, I see that it really says:
'AL0051

Can you please help me get rid of the ' ....I have a LOT of cells!

Any help and or suggestions you may have would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks, in advance!

If you want to get rid of all of them,:

find/replace find ' replace with nothing.

[Blue]Blue[/Blue] [Dragon]

If I wasn't Blue, I would just be a Dragon...

I tried Find/Replace and didn't have any luck. Can you please help me with the syntax? Does it matter that the character doesn't display in the cell, but rather just up in the formula bar?

Thanks!!

OK, this is an indicator that the data is text. Do this and post the result:

In another blank cell, put =LEN(<a cell that has problem>)

Here's a solution (tested and works)...

1) In a separate column, reference the first cell - e.g. =A1, and copy down for the number of rows.