Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Class vars in mixins? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

bkhull

Programmer
May 13, 2001
US
I'm new to ruby, but very excited. I'm stymied on an issue of mixing in a class variable. Let me describe the whole situation; maybe somebody with a better overall picture of Ruby can answer.

I want to do a mixin that lets you define what the appearance of a string representation of an object will look like, so it's easy to print the object to a file, let user edit it, and read it back.

I had in mind for a mixin to declare a class variable, a list of field descriptors with a label, a type, and which instance variable is printed that way. Types would be string, numeric, list (string or numeric) and text (where all but text are dumped in the form "[fieldname] value\n"
, and text is allowed to be multi-line: "[fieldname]\ntext". This makes an intuitive form for users to edit.

My problem is, if I define the creation of this list that contains these field types in a mixin, it creates it as a class variable to the class I mixed it into, as I intended; but when I go to use it in the class I defined in that module, the class can't find it because it's in the wrong namespace. I can't seem to figure out how I will be able to refer to it, since the namespace it's really in will depend on what class I mixed the module into.

module Dumper
BEGIN { @@dumplist = Array.new }

def dump
result = ""
@@dumplist.each { |i| result += i.dump }
end
end

class Dumpfield
def initialize(name,type,value)
@name,@type,@value = name,type,value
end

def dump
result = "[#{@name}]"
case type
when "string","numeric"
result += " #{@value}"
when "list","numlist"
result += " "