Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Class Modules - Friend or Foe?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MattSmithProg

Programmer
Sep 9, 2001
AU
Hi,

I have been programming in VBA for over 2 years now and have never found the need to use class modules. For all the reading I do everyone is recomending using them. I can see the benefits of using them but what I would use them for I can put in normal modules.

The major reason that I would use them for is common code that I use in many of my apps. If the code could be referenced in one place such that I only have to make any modifications in one place and all references to the class modules reflect the changes would be ideal. However, I am stumped as to how to do this. I thought adding a reference to the workbook that contains the class module would be the solution. However, it doesn't seem to work.

Does anyone have any ideas.

Thanks Matt Smith

No two nulls are the same

Hiya,

well, why use class modules? That's a tough question because you can get along without them quite happily. However, they do make life easier. Take our tools, for instance. We have to refer to several types of data, all stored in a Sybase database. What we've done is to create classes for each data type that'll allow us to:
- connect to Sybase
- get the data we need
- use it in xl reports we create

The big advantage is re-use: we store updated versions of all classes we've created in sourcesafe; when a class is updated, we redistribute the class amongst all tools.
If we need to create a new tool, we start by inclusding our Sybase class modules - this way, the only thing left to program is the creation of the new report type ...