Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Citrix and Remote application 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

oublie

Programmer
Jun 7, 2000
GB
Hi, We are trying to run a reporting application from an application running on citrix. (sorry im not a citrix expert) the problem we have is that the reporting application uses crystal reports which is not supported on our terminal server / citrix environment. is it possible to call an application from another machine eg nt server and still have it displayed to the citrix users. The application itself gets called by another app that currently runs on the citrix machine. I would really appreciate any help or suggestions you could offer as this is a major issue with our software.

Crystal reports is not supported but runs fine in a Citrix Metaframe/Windows 2k/NT4.0 TSE environment. I have been deploying Citrix servers for 7 yrs and have had to tweak the installation of Crystal Reports, but have always gotten it to work. Major item is to put the crystal reports in the path so that it can be found. otherwise it looks for Crystal in the wrong place.

Any other questions can be directed to
lloyd.witt@chi.vector.com

Depends what version of Crystal Reports you're running - 8.5 installs and runs perfectly, as long as you drop to a cmd prompt and type change user /install first - and Crystal Enterprise MUST be installed before CR, if you want ePortfolio etc. to work properly.

Older versions of CR require the crystal dlls folder contents to be copied to %systemroot%\system32. I have heard from others that path variables and ini files have had to be updated - but I've never had to go that far (with Crystal, at least).