Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cisco ASA 5510 -Static NAT Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

intel233

MIS
Feb 24, 2007
US
I am new to this. What I need is to create a Static Nat for one of my internal IP's so a consultant can get to it. Its just as web page. Lets say the internal IP is 10.0.2.100 and the external is 1.1.1.1
Would it be something like:
Object network TEST_Static
host 10.0.2.100
nat (inside,outside) static 1.1.1.1

Yes, that's correct. Make sure you have the "permit" entry in the ACL on the outside for his IP / subnet, remembering that starting with 8.4 code the ACE are applied to the original IP addresses, in this case 10.0.2.100.

thanks for the quick response. That is the part I am not sure about. What would the ACL be for this?

What's the web page, HTTP, HTTPS, both?
Say you have this in your config:
Code:
access-group outside-in_acl in interface outside
Then you'd need to add this for your web page access on port 80.
Code:
access-list outside-in_acl extended permit tcp <PUT YOUR VENDOR IP HERE> host 10.0.2.100 eq www
If you do not have anything like:
Code:
access-group blah in interface outside
Then you will need to make that access list and apply it to the interface

I hope this helps. If unclear feel free to ask.

Again, thanks that does help. My other question then is if I don't have an additional Public IP to give this. Is there a way to do it?

Yes, there is. You would use the outside interface address with PAT as in:
Code:
nat (inside,outside) static interface service tcp www www

Ok so it would be:
Object network TEST_Static
host 10.0.2.100
nat (inside,outside) static interface service tcp
So I wouldn't need the ACL?