Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cisco ACL basics

Status
Not open for further replies.

dingo987

MIS
Jun 20, 2001
US
Just a question to satisy my cuiosity:

I have a Cisco 2620, What command shows me its ACL?
How do you create an ACL? In a typical ACL command such as:

access-list 100 permit tcp any host 171.16.23.1 eq 80
access-list 100 deny ip any any

where does the number 100 come from? Is it a port?

Please excuse my ignorance of Cisco. I am only a beginner.

TY

Mike

'sh run' or 'sh start' will show you all of the ACLs that have been created. Different access lists serve different purposes and they fall into certain numbered ranges. ACLs 100-199 are extended IP ACLs. 1-99 are standard IP ACLs that can only filter based on source as opposed to extended IP ACLs that can filter on source and destination.

Search around on for all the info you'll need.

This is an extended ACL example.

Breakdown of the command:
This is how it would look on the terminal as you supplied the command.

Router(config)#access-list 100 deny ip 10.3.2.1 0.0.0.255 any

access-list [type/number] [deny/permit/dynamic] [protocol/port number] [source address] [wildcard bits] [destination address] [wildcard bits] [eq > < /port number] [cariage return or a few other commands]

**NOTE: you won't need to use wildcard bits if you use ANY as an address***