Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cisco 2611 and T1 setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

rkerns12

MIS
Feb 24, 2000
US
I have been asked by my company to setup the T1 line we have justed recieved. I have very little experience in Cisco routers or T1's. My company is to cheap to pay someone so here I am. We have a 2611 router and a windows 2000 advance server. I have the info from our provider but am not sure where to put it all. I also need to be able to setup the server for interent access. but my first concern is the router. they have given me a serial address, is this all I need for the info in the router or does it need more config then that. What should the address on the second NIC on the server be. I will be checking in around the clock, for my boss say's I don't sleep until it works. so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Rkerns12

Check this thread. It should tell you everything you need to know.

thread557-47608

Assuming a frame circuit, you need the DLCI that the Telco thinks you are.. if it's only one PVC then it's more then likely DLCI 16. you need to set the encapsulation on the serial interface to frame-relay. Most times the LMI is defaulted to CISCO but ask. Ask the ISP if they use OSPF or other routing protocol to learn your networks or is it static. Larger sites use OSPF normally to "teach" the proxy the internal networks.

If you are running just a pure internet connection and no proxy at the ISP, at the very least get NAT running on your router. It's fairly simple to set up. There are several suggestions for setting up secure access lists that will block various nasties.

Let us know if you need the details.