Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

cisco 1721

Status
Not open for further replies.

spivy66

MIS
Nov 8, 2002
US
I'm kind of new at cisco ,I'm in the process to get a cisco 1721 router. I want to play around with vpns and such. MY question is I have broadband connection( cable modem,grap ip dhcp) ,will the cisco 1721 work with this . Can you enable dhcp on the 1721 on one of the interfaces?...also, can anyone point me to a good site or book to learn about this router and it's commands. Thanks

I'm sorry but what does EOL mean. Will this router work with my cable modem?

Spivy,

The 1721 will work fine with any broadband connection. You will however need to get a hold of a Wan Interface Card (WIC). I have a WIC1-ENET (10 Base-T Ethernet) connected to my DSL modem for internet access at home, and I'm guessing this is best option for connecting to a cable modem. You can also get ISDN and ADSL WIC's if that suits. Note that you cant use High Speed WIC's on the 1721 (HWIC'S) so ADSL2+ or other > 10Mb (or so) connections are out

The unit has recently gone End-of-Life (EOL) but they are still a pretty handy router.

Hope this helps...