Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Checking what jobs are running using T-SQL 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

drlex

Technical User
Jul 3, 2002
GB
Greetings, all.
I'm using SQL Server 2005 as a small data warehouse for storing and processing information derived from our trading system and other sources (HR, Excel, csv), such operations being run from DTS jobs (dating from inception on SQL Server 2005) on a schedule starting at 5 a.m. and running for about four hours. The server reboots daily at 3 a.m., so no job will run over 24 hours.

I know that I should be migrating these jobs to SSIS, but there's a combination of "if it ain't broke" and lack of knowledge (self-taught SQL & SQL server admin).

Whilst things run mostly without hiccups, we're about to do a disaster recovery (DR) exercise with servers; restoring from tape-backups. This has resulted in the consideration of how to perform a forced re-run of jobs if the server has been inoperative over the time of 'reads' of the trading system.

I'm trying to compile a DTS job for DR that can be run at any time in the day, which will perform the following.
1) stop any running jobs
2) disable any jobs scheduled to run later that day
3) run all jobs not run that day consecutively in order

I think I can see how data extracted from msdb tables sysjobs, sysjobschedules, sysjobhistory and sysjobactivity will let me compile such a sequence, but what I want to check is the way to identify running jobs.