Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

checking tape backups

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 7, 2005
CA
hi i have a tape drive from sun that uses dds4 tapes that is connected to my cms/pbx. i want to know how i can go about reading and checking these tapes. i have no unix experience and any commands or such would help. thanks.

It would be helpful if you could indicate how your backup is made, ie what command, tape drive etc (you may be able to find this in the script used to back up the syatem). Basically, for a list of what's on the tape(s):

mt -f <tape device> rewind - to rewind the tape to the beginning

tar tvf <tape device> - if tar

cpio -itv < <tape device> -if cpio

ufsrestore -tvf <tape device> -if ufsdump

Of course it may be that your backup is made by some bought-in solution, in which case we'll need more details, please. Then of course there's dd....

Post back with your findings or further questions.

hey ken thanks for the feedback - the backup is being done by cms (call center management software). The tape drive is an hp dd4 tape drive. Not sure if this helps you out or not. thank you.

for the <tape drive> what is replaced by that? is it a drive letter? how do i list the drives on unix? i'm a windows geek sorry

Hi. Assuming that this is a 'standard' Solaris OS (on which your software sits, I imagine?), the tape device is usually something like:

/dev/rmt/0 (for native data)

/dev/rmt/0c (for compressed data)

It may be that the 0 (zero) will be a 1, depending upon how many tape drives you have attached, but the likeliehood is that it will be 0.

Do you have access to the script the cms uses for the backup?

btw: I suggest to use /dev/rmt/0n or 0cn