Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

checkboxes, forms, and tables 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellybw

MIS
Apr 14, 2004
US
I am new to the world of access, and full of questions. First of all I guess I should explain what I am trying to do and then what I've got so far. I am having to create a database that will hold a user rolebase. We have 10 systems and around 900 employees. Each employee has different logins to the respective systems. I have created an EMPLOYEE table that has badge # (primary key), first name, last name, and department. I have also created a table that has each SYSTEM as well as employee badge #. I have been working on a form that has the employee badge#, first name, last name, department. That part of the form works great. I would like to list each system at the bottom of the form with checkboxes and as the user selects what system the employee has security to have a field pop up that would allow the user to enter in the employee's login information on the same form. And as the information is entered in it updates the system table. As I said before I am new to this and full of questions, so any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!! :)

First off Kelly - Welcome to Tek-tips.

Before you launch into the FORM design - you need to sort out your schema ( tables, fields in each table, relationships etc. )
So of the 6 MSAccess boards on the tek-tips site you've hit the right one to start.

Next, as you're new - read the FAQ faq700-2190 on why you should NEVER use space characters in anything you give a name to.

So to the schema.