Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Check if a CString is a double 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lammbock

Programmer
Jun 3, 2003
DE
Hi.

Im new to VC++ and have some problem creating a function which is given a CString and is supposed to return 1 if the CString is a valid positive double.
I think of something like

int CheckForDouble (CString input)
{
if ( input is a positive double )
{
return 1;
}
return 0;
}

If its a double I can safely use atof() in my program to work with the converted CString

if ( CheckForDouble ( stringvar ) == 1)
{
doublevar = atof ( stringvar )
}

Thanks for helping me get along!

No, there is no standard library way to do this.

My algorithm would check the string for a pattern: (if you are familiar with regexps this will make sense, but otherwise you'll probably be best not to try to understand it.)

Code:
^[+-]?[0-9]+(\.[0-9]+)?([eE][+-]?[0-9]+)?$

To use this, you need a regular expression library... try searching google for "C regular expression library".

[sub]I REALLY hope that helps.[/sub]
Will

First go throught the string and make sure that you have only characters that would belong in a double (0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,.,e,+,-). If you find something that does not belong return indicating not a double.

Second, try using the return of atof for your indication if you have a valid double. It will return a double equal to the value of the number or 0.0 if it fails. If it returns a value other than 0.0 then your function should return indicating that the string is a double.