Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Chart with only Running Totals

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim296

MIS
Aug 24, 2012
US
I'm new to crystal reporting and would appreciate any help on this topic. I am trying to use a bar or pie chart to display my running totals for demographic purposes.

Data Example:

Date Last Name First Name Age Race Sex Address City

Running Totals Example:

B/M 17 or younger
B/M 18- 35
B/M 36-55
B/M 56-75
B/M 75+
W/M 17 Or younger
W/M 18-35
etc........

What I can't figure out is how to use "only" the running totals in a chart. I can affix labels myself if needed. I've tried setting up a group, but it wants me to sort by a field (that pulls to many records/results). There are thousands of results in my data tables. I only want to summarize the results in a chart.

Can anyone point me in the right direction on where to start?

you need to first get the report to count these results then use the summary function.

so you could make a formula that says if b/mfield is < 17 then "less than 17" else
if b/,field is >75 then "75+" -you get the idea. from that you can build your group. in that group you can create a formula to count "true" and then insert s summary from that formula

Thank you for trying to help me, but I do not understand your solution.

I have created formula's with the specific criteria needed for each catagory that I mentioned above. I have created a table to display the results (which works perfectly). Now, I wanted to create a pie or bar graph for a better visual effect on this report. I have all of the formulas complete and working, but I can't figure out how to graph them using the chart function.