Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Changing the SQL statement in Crystal Reports 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

CH

Programmer
Oct 15, 1999
US
I am new to Crystal Reports and having a hard time. I am using Crystal Reports with a Sybase database and a VB application where the user can query on 20 different fields. I build the sql statement in VB as the user builds his/her criteria. The SELECT section selects the same fields for every query but the WHERE section changes depending on the users criteria. How do I get Crystal Reports to read the new sql statement?<br>
<br>
example #1 select name, citizenship from tvisitors where name like &quot;%sam%&quot;<br>
example #2 select name, citizenship from tvisitors v, tfacilities f where v.citizenship = &quot;US&quot; and f.age &gt; 20 and <br>
f.type = &quot;Government&quot; and f.visitorid = v.visitorid;

The following is from <br>
<A HREF=" TARGET="_new"> <br>
and I think addresses your problem:<br>
<br>
Synopsis<br>
Pass a multiple line Sql Query using the SQLQUERY property so that the whole statement is on seperated lines.<br>
<br>
Solution<br>
For example the SQL query:<br>
sql_str = &quot;SELECT Orders.`Order ID`, Orders.`Customer`, Orders.`Date`, Orders.`Order Amount` FROM `Orders` Orders WHERE (((Orders.`Order Date`) = #01/27/96#))&quot;<br>
<br>
must be concatenated as:<br>
<br>
sql_str = &quot;SELECT&quot; _<br>
+&quot;Orders.`Order ID`, Orders.`Customer`, Orders.`Date`, Orders.`Order Amount`&quot; _<br>
+ &quot;FROM &quot; _<br>
+ &quot; `Orders` Orders&quot; _<br>
+ &quot; WHERE &quot; _<br>
+ &quot; (((Orders.`Order Date`) = #01/27/96#))&quot;<br>
& sign can be used instead of the + sign.<br>