Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

???changing OS from 98 to XP pro 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

toddOne

Programmer
Jul 20, 2001
US
hello...i am a programmer with little knowledge when it comes to file systems and installing a new OS. but anyway, i was putting XP pro on a friend's pc who was running win 98. when i completed i now had a partioned drive with 98 and XP. what would be the best way to get rid of the 98 OS???
is there some question during setup that i glossed over?
if i reinstall xp will i have the opportunity to drop both of the existing operation systems?

please help! i appreciate any advice!!
thanks in advance!!

Reboot your computer with the Windows XP CD in the CD drive.
The following message appears on a black screen with white letters: Press any key to boot from the CD.

Press the spacebar to boot to the Windows XP CD.
After several moments of initializing some modules, the Windows XP Setup screen appears.

Windows XP Home Edition Setup

Welcome to Setup.

This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft<R> Windows<R> XP to run on your computer.

To set up Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using
Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Enter=Continue R=Repair F3=Quit

Press the <Enter> key.
The Windows XP Licensing Agreement appears.

Read the license agreement.

Press the <F8> key to agree.
Setup will search for previous versions of Windows.

Windows XP Home Edition Setup

If one of the following Windows XP installations is damaged, Setup can try to repair it.

Use the UP and DOWN ARROW keys to select an installation.

To repair the selected Windows XP installation,