Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Changing Data

Status
Not open for further replies.

TyGwyn

Programmer
Oct 5, 2005
GB
Hi all, i am a total Newbie to Html and as such have a Very Limited knowledge, -- The Problem-- i am trying to create a web page that has 10 data fields in tables or input boxes that can be edited and changed by any of the systems logged in to the web page, The test I wrote only changed the data local to the PC and was not visible to other external browsers.
any help appreciated.

Well HTML is a stateless static language. That means you need to alter the HTML code to show any changes.

If you want to conserve any changes made to it by someone you need to have some kind of storage mechanism. Be it a database, a file, alterations made to the web page itself etc...

For that you need a programming language that can not only store the changes, but also retrieve them once the page is requested again.

You say you have a series of data fields, how are you storing these data fields, and how do you expect to retrieve them?

----------------------------------
Phil AKA Vacunita
Ignorance is not necessarily Bliss, case in point:
Unknown has caused an Unknown Error on Unknown and must be shutdown to prevent damage to Unknown.

How and where are you storing the input box data? What back-end processing are you doing? What server side language are you using?

If you want the best response to a question, please check out FAQ222-2244 first.
'If we're supposed to work in Hex, why have we only got A fingers?'
Drive a Steam Roller

Sorry Phil - overlapping posting!

If you want the best response to a question, please check out FAQ222-2244 first.