Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Challenge and response

Status
Not open for further replies.

37grove

MIS
Jun 29, 2002
US
Hello,

I’m new to McAfee and I was given the following task. What my boss wants to do is setup McAfee 8.5.0i to scan a system during the logon to our network using RAS. If during the scan it does not identify the systems as having any antivirus it will not allow them to proceed and disconnect them.

Can this be done with McAfee VirusSacn Enterprise 8.5.0i and ePolicy 3.6.1?

Thanks,

Looks to me like Network Access Control (NAC) Task.

As far as I know, EPO can't do that , and it's not meant for that.

Chris

Chris,

Appreciate the information, now I need to find a solution for what he wants.

Gary

Strictly speaking: invest in NAC solution :)

if your boss does not agree:), Logon script can help you detect the AV (query te registry + services running to be sure)

For non-compliant PC, they must be using VBS to drop the RAS connection, but i don't have ready solutions