Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Chain of Command vs. Mediator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sizzmo

Programmer
Sep 29, 2011
US
I could use some help with the model for our lab's measurement software. I'm an electrical engineer most of the time but I am also the software developer since we are small and I'm the most qualified. I have migrated our code from VB6 to VB.NET and finally to C# after learning generics with C# examples and became tired of VB syntax. I've read books on design patterns and but it's still a bit ambigous to me.

In a nutshell, the software basically talks to a device which performs a measurement on a widget, and then exports the results. Most often, another device(s) will 'perturb' the setup for additional measurements. We have a variety of measuring devices, perturbing devices, and exporting targets. The original software was procedural with a heavy GUI. It severely lacked reusability and extensibility becase each device had unique capabilities.

After analyzing the trends, I narrowed the model down to four primary classes: Measurement, MetrologyDevice, Permuter, and Exporter. Each device could be configured before the measurement and a handful of required properties/methods could be handled through a common interface. PropertyGrids are used for everything, so the code for the GUI is inside each class as a TypeDescriptor/TypeConverter and not tied to a specific GUI. Here's a list of the primary classes and their interfaces:

Exporter -Takes data and exports it to a file, UI, another app, or database, etc.
IExporter
Export(data)