Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

centrex/voicemail 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

hopper123

Technical User
Apr 21, 2007
US

I'm a retired att tech. Ive been installing Avaya partner systems. One of my customers has centrex lines on a partner.
When they answer a call they would like to transfer that call to a persons voicemail box. Can we xfer from an inuse line to ITS voicemail? Thanks I think its a dms1000 office.

Are you using an on premise voicemail using SMDI? It depends on the voicemail system you have installed.
Octel has SMDI integrations. You could transfer to a master voicemail number, ## VMBOX HANGUP.
If you are using CENTREX voicemail on each line, cant you simply blind transfer the call to the number with rna to voicemail box?

Yes, they are using centrex VM. I don't understand "blind transfer to the number with rna." But it does sound like what they are looking for.

After rereading the post from SNSSMIS I see a snag. Lets say we answer a call on 4444 and want to transfer it to the mail box assigned to 4444, is this possible?
Thanks

I assumed you had a pool of numbers ringing in to a answering console. Most CENTREX voicemail I have worked with are tied to a user number not the main number. Attendants transfer call user and call forwards no answer to voicemail.

should have a separate line group to Pickup calls. You would not be on 4444. Why answer the call if it has voicemail?