Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CCVP or IP or SP

Status
Not open for further replies.

imbadatthis

Technical User
Aug 16, 2009
CA
Hello all,

yesterday i passed my last exam required for my CCNP .

background:
i have CCNA and CCNP now..
i work for a giant ISP/teleco
i have a math degree and am trying to get compsci ...

can i get a discussion started on which path might be better?

CCVP , CCIP or CCSP

I've been reading on cisco's site that for the SP and VP i would need to also pass CCNA voice /CCNA security ...

thanks,

For the VP, if you pass the CVOICE exam that will automatically make you a CCNA Voice.

If you are already with a Telco, than the CCIP might be the way to go with the MPLS and BGP work. I didn't think the CCIP was nearly as difficult in comparison to the CCNP track.

Plus with the CCIP, you have overlap with the QoS exam if you decide to go with for the CCVP later to get a better understanding of CUCM.

I think the answer is somewhat obvious? Unless you are already playing with all the high level equipment. If not ccip all the way. Plus ccip overlaps a little with ie which is why i am dual studying both.

CCNP

I agre CCIP is the way to go. Especially if you ever plan to go for CCIE routing and Switching. Its almost mandatory for that in my opinion as pretty much all the CCIP topics are covered in depth.

As for it being easier than the CCNP, I'm not so sure about that. I though QoS was easy and routing wasn't bad (plus you already have it). On the other hand BGP as the toughest 642 level exam I had and MPLS just builds upon that. I passed all on my first shot but they weren't easy per se.

Good luck.

so from what im reading CCIP > CCVP.