Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CCNA - Path 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

coach38

MIS
Apr 8, 2004
US
Hello,
I'm currently studying for my CCNA and wanted to know which path should I focus on. CCDP, CCNP, CCSP, CCVP or CCNPWireless
I just want to focus on a path from entry to Professional or Expert. A friend told me to focus on Design/Security or Voice/Wireless.

What's your opinion?

I think there is value in any of the tracks, or even a combination of them. There is good foundation for all of them from the CCNP track, so I think that usually ends up being the starting point for most.

Thanks!
I live in NY and I didn't want to get into an area that's so common.

Are there any virtual router links out there? I'm using the TRAINSIGNAL training cd and I'm up to the part where its showing you some router commands?

this is the point where many of will tell you to pick up a couple of routers to practice with instead of a virtual router. Ciscoguy has the link to Wendell Odom's blog post on setting up labs and what equipment to look for.

You can use dynagen for practice as well, but will have to locate an ios image to use.

Concentrate on the CCNA first. After passing it, you will have a better idea what your passion is (routing and switching, security, design, wireless, voice, ultimate fighting, etc.).

/

tim@tim-laptop ~ $ sudo apt-get install windows
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package windows...Thank Goodness!

Have to agree with Burt... go through the CCNA and find your passion... personally, I prefer the Ultimate Fighting..