Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CCNA IP Subnetting 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

kiefmer

MIS
May 19, 2000
US
Subnetting and I do not get a long very well. I am studying to take the CCNA exam and was curious if anyone can tell me how much subnetting is on the exam? Is it a lot or just a little? I know subnetting is a good thing to know, but they have calculators out there now for this type of thing.

Thanks,
Kiefmer

I remember seeing a couple of questions on the exam with that subject. Like 4 or 5 maybe. But trust me, subnetting is one of the major subject that you need to know out in the field. Don't over look it. Subnetting is not just seperating segments, you need to know this stuff in routing, vlans, segmentation, switching and a lot more. Don't just rely on a calculator, rely on your skills.

People who I have spoken to say you need to be about to answer subnet questions in your head in 45 secs, so learn it well.

Thank you all for your comments. I know I need to learn it. The only thing is that I don't use it very often in my job (it is usually our design group), so I forget it and then have to relearn it. It just drives me crazy. But I will learn it somehow.

Thanks again.

kiefmer,

I took the CCNA last July at Networkers in New Orleans and had about 10-11 questions that had something to do with subnetting.

As was said above, subnetting is a very important fundamental for networking.

Try the site -

I also like the chapter from the Sybex CCNA Study Guide on subnetting - I have had more students tell me that one chapter helped them understand it.