Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CAT3 vs. CAT5

Status
Not open for further replies.

rbertram

MIS
Oct 15, 2002
US
I just setup a wireless Internet connection. My antenna plugs into a Linksys router w/f port switch. If I connect into the router/switch with my PC, down/up speeds are correct. When I uplink the router to another 16-port switch, my download speeds are cut by a third, but the upload is still ok.

So I started playing around with different CAT5 and CAT5e cables and found no difference. When I tried a CAT3 cable, the download speed went back to normal. To confirm that my CAT5 cable was ok, I cut one end off and converted it to CAT3, and it worked perfectly.

Why would I get higher download speeds with CAT3? It is not a big deal since the broadband connection is only 2.5Mbps, but it prevents me from get higher network speeds in my LAN if I want to use the other 3 ports on my router.

Sounds like the end on your original cable was bad. I don't fully understand what you mean by converting a CAT5 cable to CAT3, you can't convert a cable from CAT5 to CAT3, you can put a CAT3 end on a CAT5 cable, though so I assume that's what you did. Anyway, if you cut the end off a cable that was giving you trouble, reterminated it and it stopped giving you trouble (CAT5 v. CAT3 aside) I'd say the original end was defective.

Yes, I just made one end CAT3.

It is hard for me to believe that I had 3 bad CAT5 cables. The chance that I randomly cut one end off of one of the CAT5 cables and converted it to CAT3 would make a difference is very slim.