Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Case Fan Placement 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

pirate252

Programmer
Mar 21, 2002
US
I didnt know where to post this message so ill post it here please go here and look at the pic i drew of my case (yes i know im not a good artist) but just see whats u think is good.bad.ugly, ok thanks

Matt

go here

Oh my... full of fans it nice to live in there. It's overdone but it's your gain. The airflow is just right. The size of the top fan is not stated, but I suppose it is a 40-60mm type.

I think your design is fundamentally flawed, although I am sure it will work fine.
You seem to have a front to back air flow in place which does not take into fact natural convection (hot air rises)
A better design would be to have lower intakes to upper exhausts. (in at the bottem, out at the top) Calculating a ballanced CFM, (same coming in as going out)
The other thing is air cooling! just because you put 12 fans in a case does not mean it will run much cooler than a case with 6, because the air reaching your components will be no cooler, so beyond a certain air flow the gains are relatively minor and don't forget your power supply will be generating extra heat powering all these fans.
Now if you could lower the temperature of the air going into the case in the first place this would seriously make a differance! Martin
Just trying to help, sometimes falling short, I am only human after all.

Hmmmm... a better opinion. Perhaps, if I were to reduce it, I would take out the two 40mm bottom exhaust near the card cooler.

HI all
Paparazi is spot on as far as Thermodynamics are concerned, and for this reason he get a star from me.