Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cascading Parms – Enter Text Value – CR XI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noodle10

Programmer
Dec 12, 2012
US
Hello,

I’m very new to CR and am trying to figure out an issue with cascading prompts.

I understand how to develop a cascade with 2 values that have values in the database (ie. State/City).

My issue is that my parent prompt needs to be a text field since it is an ID value and there are so many in the DB that I don’t want a dropdown. The user will have this information available.

The second prompt will be based on the text entry.

This is for an EMR (Electronic Medical Records) application where I’m finding a patient problem list. The first prompt will be the Patient ID followed by their problem list (dropdown).

Easy, right? :)

Thanks, Noodle

Use a command to provide your cascade list.

SQL will be something like

select patientproblem
from yourtable
where patientIDfield = ?yourparameter1

Not an expert in this field but I know it can be done. Searching this forum on this topic may yield more info

Ian

One of the 3rd-party Crystal Reports viewers listed at has an extra option for cascading and dynamic parameters based on other Crystal Reports. This allows you to use Type-In parameters at any point within the parameter cascade.

hth,
- Ido

view, export, burst, email, and schedule Crystal Reports.