Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cascading Dropdowns 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jful23

Programmer
Jul 8, 2002
US
Happy Friday everybody! :)

Wondering if you can help out this poor gal before the day is over.

I am an experienced Access developer who has been recruited to develop a FP database and am having an issue that I can't seem to resolve.

I have two tables, Project and Employee, joined in a relationship by Project Name. On my form, I have a Project dropdown, which is working perfectly. I would like to create a second dropdown based on the first....for example, if I select Project 1 from the first dropdown, I would like the second dropdown to be populated with the related values in the Employee table.

Any suggestions are GREATLY appreciated.
Enjoy your weekend!
Regards,
Jamie

Good evening! :)

I am using FMP 7.0.

Thanks for your reply!!

Hi,

To set this up, you will first require a relationship which matches the project field to a project field in the same or another file.

Then set your valuelist to use values from the employee assign to projects, but select the option for "Only related values...", and specify your Project relationship.

Happy FileMaking

I have this same problem, but I need more help. I really don't understand how to set up the Relationship. The book says "Create a file with 2 fields:List1 and List2." Where do I create this file? Does it mean another FileMaker database? Then, what I don't get is how to tell it which members of list2 should show up when I select a particular member of list1. Thank you to anyone who can explain this to me.

It’s best to try some new techniques by making little files to try things out.