Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cascading Combo Box Items

Status
Not open for further replies.

gsdcrazy

Programmer
Sep 2, 2002
US
Gurus,

I am very new at Access Programming and really would appreciate some help. I have spent hours going through threads and just can seem to hit on the right key words.

My situation is that I have a table that will be use to create a combo box. The table (among others) has two columns: FundName and FundLevel. For example,

FUNDNAME FUNDLEVEL
Income 0
Tithes & Offerings 1
Building Rental 1
Interest Income 1
Expenses 0
Outside Giving 1
Co-op 2
Clovis Vanover 3
Salaries & Benefits 1
Pastor's Salary 2

I want to come up with a Combo Box (or maybe it should be a List and that is what I am doing wrong) that looks like:

Income
Tithes & Offerings
Building Rental
Interest Income
Expenses
Outside Giving
Co-op
Clovis Vanover
Salaries & Benefits
Pastor's Salary

I have been trying to perform the indentation with a procedure off the "Enter" event. (I was planning on getting rid of the spaces added in the "AfterUpdate" event.) Is there a better way? Are there formatting commands I can place in the SQL that will provide the indentation? I can still catch it in the "AfterUpdate" event to get rid of the spaces for storing in the destination table (not the Funds table). Here is the code I have been trying, but nothing is showing in the Combo Box.

Private Sub DefaultFundName_Enter()

Dim iCount As Integer
Dim strDesignatedFundName As String
Dim strFirstTime As String

strFirstTime = "N"
Set dbs = CurrentDb()

Set rst = dbs.openrecordset("SELECT DesignatedFundName " _
& " ,DesignatedFundLevel " _
& " FROM DesignatedFunds " _