Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Carrer Advice Desperately Needed :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aleena

Programmer
Oct 3, 1999
US
I recently found out that the company I have worked for the last 3 years will be consolidating their R&D at another location. For personal reasons I am declining the transition package and staying in my hometown (a semi small community). I am currently a Software Engineer II working with embedded real time systems. We develop in Smalltalk (not very portable) and C++. I am stronger on the Smalltalk front and most experienced with GUI front-end applications. We work exclusively in Linux. It is not likely I will find a job that requires my current skill set so I am trying to develop a plan to move towards .NET certification, most likely the MCTS/MCPD route.