Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Career change suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rjoubert

Programmer
Oct 2, 2003
US
Have any of you programmers/software developers/system engineers/etc ever thought of getting out of the IT world and switching careers? If so, what careers have you considered?

I've considered other careers related to my experience with emphasis on areas other than IT. I've been a software developer/analyst/business intelligence developer working with direct marketing initiatives in a particular industry for most of my professional career. If I was going to change careers, I would probably lean towards something more on the business side where I can utilize the experience I have already gained, e.g., direct marketing manager, etc. If your experience has been slanted towards a particular field or industry, then you might consider moving over into a non-IT role in that respect. Other than that, you would probably have to acquire some more education to move into something completely new and different.

I've thought about it, but at this point in my life/career I can't afford the pay cut that a change would require. I would like to work in Natural Resource Management - forest land, water conservation management, something outside and natural....

Leslie

Anything worth doing is a lot more difficult than it's worth - Unknown Induhvidual

Essential reading for database developers:
The Fundamentals of Relational Database Design
Understanding SQL Joins

Taking flying lessons now (I'm 48). If I switch it will be to become a CFI (instructor).

I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger.
Then it hit me.

::scratches head::