Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Career Change Advice 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarkSreb

Technical User
Apr 9, 2000
US
Hi,<br><br>I've read some of the threads and found them very useful. Hopefully some of you could give me some feedback on my situation.<br><br>I have been working as an architect for 20 years, but want to go into hi-tech arena; probably software. Very proficient in using computer for usual stuff and do 3D/CAD/Animation etc. Have dabbled a bit in learning some BASIC and have taken a 2 day course in using it to customize my CAD program. <br><br>Also, have run my own business for last 10 years in Silicon Valley. So surrounded by techies and have gotten very interested in getting into 'hi-tech' world.<br><br>1.&nbsp;&nbsp;If I want to get into software world, should I <br><br>a. get a university degree or<br><br>b. take some univ extension courses and get a certificate or<br><br>c. self study with books or ???<br><br>2. Is there a way to get my foot in the door with a hi-tech company while I'm learning or is it better to wait till I have finished whatever course of study I have done??<br><br>3. Is it realistic to think about doing this at 45??<br><br>Thanks in advance for any advice you may give.<br><br>Mark