Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cap issue on MICS 4.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cotech1950

Technical User
Mar 24, 2014
US
Hello, I am a retired telco tech and help support Norstar systems at a local school. A 7324 with 1 cap started resetting and found a long line cord feeding the lock pin was broke at jack and was no fully seated and replaced. that seemed to take care of the issue until noticed the cap was no longer functioning due to a psu failure, could have been the issue all along. A former co coworker had a valcom 24v psu so I obtained it as well as other spare parts. place psu cap did not come up went to check voltage and could smell psu hot and no voltage. I am going to order a psu today and will monitor voltage when I plug it in to see what happens. I at this point do not know if it was just a bad used psu or something is killing the psu's. I am going to measure line to cap and phone to see if something abnormal. I have no other 7324 but there was a spare cap that must have been in service at one time. I did get 3 7310 phones with blf modules and could bale on the cap. Any suggestions on what it might be, also since 1 cap do I still need 6 wie cord from cap to phone?

Some CAP tips I can give you even though you know most of it...

CAP Modules

Power Supply - called SAP - Station Auxiliary Supply - one per every two CAPS
1 CAP - Pos to Tip & Neg to Ring (Pos to WO & Neg to OW)
2nd CAP - bride/loop orange pair to the green pair at the MDF, you could at the jack but harder to troubleshoot.
If the SAP is over a 1000 feet then you may need to put a SAP on each orange and green pairs

Jack
BW/WB = Pins 4&5 Digital Signal
WO/OW = Pins 3&6 CAP #1