Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can't view files in external HD 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

brokenhalo

IS-IT--Management
Feb 24, 2008
US
Hey guys,

Just to start, I am fairly new in the linux world, so with this question, please excuse what seems to be my ignorance... I have a web server on CentOS 4.4. I have attached a 500GB external hard drive. I want to mount this drive, but before I do that, I have to figure out what drive it is. I have checked the /dev folder and noticed that there is sda, sda1, sda2, sdb and sdb1... I am not sure which drive is the one I just attached... I tried the df command and here is what I got...

[root@host ~]# df
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00
115952076 24250252 85811776 23% /
/dev/sda1 101086 9288 86579 10% /boot
none 647372 0 647372 0% /dev/shm

Again, I have not mounted the drive yet, so I'm not sure if it would even be on the list above. My main goal is to use this drive as backup for websites that I host because ftp isn't working as I planned it. If anyone can help me to mount and be able to view files and save files to this drive it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Brad L. - MCP

"If the doctors told me I had 5 minutes to live, I would type faster.

Try doing a

Code:
$ dmesg | tail

This usually will reveal what was mapped to the device you just plugged in.

When you go to mount it, you will need to tell it to allow your user to read/write. To identify this, use

Code:
$ whoami
<user>
$ cat /etc/passwd | grep <user>
<user>:x:1000:1000:User Name:/home/<user>:/bin/bash