Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can't quite make the connection between Access & ADO...help!! 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ag90fox

IS-IT--Management
Mar 14, 2002
US
o.k. everyone can quit laughing now!! Really, I've been programming in MS Access for 10 years at one amatuer level or another (primarily for various project management positions I've had).

I constantly see people talking about connectionsets, recordsets, etc....in relation to Access BUT WITHIN Access.

Considering I just make my form, tell it what table/query to draw from; same with reports, etc... I'm lost as to why someone within Access would need to connect to the tables in its own database to make it work?!

Am I making any sense? I just can't make the connection as to why you would need to use ADO within Access....excel maybe, ACAD sure, but within itself?

Thanks for your good humor and hopefully responses.

Joe

Been programming in Access for 10 years and never had to do any background processing with tables? Hee hee hee. Oh, sorry.
Let's say you have a form, input or display, and depending on what the user inputs/changes, it will effect data in another table that is NOT bound to the form. You use DAO/ADO to access that table and make the changes, sort of in the background. You can also add/delete records in the other table. Etc.
example, a client/patient makes a visit so that Visit date is entered. However, you are also tracking the Last Visit date in another table. You want the new Visit Date to update the Last Visit Date. Instead, of opening another form, you can update that field by using DAO/ADO.