Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can't connect with socket /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock

Status
Not open for further replies.

K1BBQ

Programmer
May 28, 2001
US
I'm a student, been working on a web-based database. Running RedHat 6.2, the Publisher's Version that came with the textbook, MySQL 3.22.32, everything was running fine. I upgraded to the boxed set RH 7.0, and foolishly allowed it to include the MySQL package. I did copy out the database to the WinC drive just in case, but now I can't connect in the terminal window. I get "Cant connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (111)". I find on the internet that lots of people seem to get this problem, and nowhere have I seen a fix that works for me. The file is there in /var/lib/mysql, and I found one also in /tmp. Both were 0 bytes, if that's meaningful. I hoped that mysql.com would have a copy of the file, if that's the fix, but no luck there. Maybe I should just nuke everything MySQL and reinstall from the original tar.gz I installed from at the beginning of the term at school? I know how to uninstall things in Windows, but am reluctant to do it in Linux just yet.

I also tried downloading the latest 3.23.38 rpm from mysql.com, and rpm'ed it, but that didn't help.

I'm afraid I'm just a student and this has got me skunked.

F.

locate mysql.sock

make a symbolic link to it from /var/lib/mysql

My problem was teh other way around. It was looking for it in /tmp but the .sock file was in /var/wherever

A symbolic link fixed it. Though, there is a place in the manual that tells you how to make the prog find it wherever it is. Search the manual for mysql.sock Steve Davis
hey.you@hahaha.com.au