Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

cannot change data in stored procedure

Status
Not open for further replies.

bradmaunsell

Programmer
May 8, 2001
US
I'm new with SQL 2005 Express and I'm stuck - again
Windows XP
Access 2003
Access Project (on my laptop)
I am re-writing a fairly large application.
I have a problem with stored procedures. More specifically, I cannot change data when I run a stored procedure (used as RecordSource). The form has a header and multiple record detail section (continuous forms). For example, a policyholder header and a detail section with all of the policyholder's endorsements.

My form displays all data corretly but I cannot change any data.

After thrashing around for several hours, I have discovered the problem has nothing to do with my front end. If I run the stored procedure in the SQL Manager, I still cannot edit data. I can edit table data and edit view data but not any data returned from running a stored procedure. At first I looked for a non-updatable select statment but that is not the problem either.

Here is a very simple example. If I run this in the SQL Manager, the data returned is correct but I cannot change anything. It can't get much simpler than this sp.

----------------------------------------------------------

USE [MGA]
GO
/****** Object: StoredProcedure [dbo].[sp_cbo_Staff] Script Date: 12/04/2007 16:32:21 ******/
SET ANSI_NULLS ON
GO
SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON
GO
-- =============================================
-- Author: Brad Maunsell
-- Create date: 11/06/2007
-- Description: Used for drop downs on underwriters form
-- =============================================

ALTER PROCEDURE [dbo].[sp_cbo_Staff]
AS
BEGIN
SET NOCOUNT ON;