Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cannot add network folder to Documents library

Status
Not open for further replies.

WANguy2k

MIS
Feb 25, 2002
US
I'm a network admin. I've created a %username\documents folder for all users and applied the necessary security. For most users, I make this folder available offline and I am able to include it in their Documents library.

For the last two users I did this, but was unable to include folder in Documents, getting the error that it's not indexed. On the server, the drive and subfolders are all able to be indexed in the settings. The folder is successfully syncing to the computer. But I still get the error that the folder is not indexed.

I disabled syncing on the computer, added the formatdatabase reg key to the computer, restarted, turned on offline folders, set the folder to sync again, completed the sync, still can't add it to the Documents library.

Then, in case there was some kind of corruption on the files on the server, I deleted the network folder, turned off offline files on the PC, cleared the offline files cache, created a new documents folder on the server with the correct permissions, turned on offline files, synced the empty folder to the PC, and tried to add the new network documents folder to the documents library on the PC. Failed because the empty folder isn't indexed. Again.

Any Ideas?

Here's a wacky idea. Try putting in a dummy file. May be just one of those silly things that it wants something to index. Then once it works, delete the file.