Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CanGrow "Can't assign value to this object" Error 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

corycrum

Technical User
Jan 10, 2007
US
I'm trying to record the "natural" height of certain controls on a report by setting the CanGrow and CanShrink properties to True. I keep getting an error message that reads: "you can't assign a value to this object." I'm trying to set a property, not assign a value to an object. I've only been doing Access VBA for about a week so I'm very new to this.

It's hanging up on the line "Me.Section(acDetail).CanGrow = True"

Here is my code:

Option Compare Database

Private shadeNextRow As Boolean

Const shadedColor = 8454143
Const normalColor = 16777215

Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)

' Choose a color based on the shadeNextRow value
If Abs([EST_FLOW]) > 250000000 Then
Me.Section(acDetail).BackColor = shadedColor
Else
Me.Section(acDetail).BackColor = normalColor
End If

'PART II: RECORD THE INITIAL HEIGHT OF THE CONTROLS IN THE REPORT

Me.Section(acDetail).CanGrow = True
Me.Section(acDetail).CanShrink = True

IHEST_DATE = Me.Controls![EST_DATE].Height
IHACT_DATE = Me.Controls![ACT_DATE].Height
IHBUS_LINE = Me.Controls![BUS_LINE].Height
IHINV_CENTER = Me.Controls![INV_CENTER].Height

Me.Section(acDetail).CanGrow = False
Me.Section(acDetail).CanShrink = False

Thank you so much - Cory

I do not think that the Format event is suitable. Try the report Open event for setting the CanGrow property of the detail section.