Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can you run a VB/MS Access app from a CD 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

edge27

Programmer
Jun 23, 2003
US
Hi,

I have used the VB6 package wizard to create the setup for my Vb app. It reads an access database. I used Roxio to burn it to a CD. My client wants users to be able to run it off the CD since some users wont have admin rights to their pc. Is this possible? If so, how? My OpenDatabase keeps failing. I'm a newbie so as specific of an answer would be appreciated.
Please help.

John

Hey

I believe the database read fails as it is on the cd and only read only.

C

This is the OpenDatabase code I tried:
Set dbData = OpenDatabase(App.Path & "\PB2006Data.mdb", , vbReadOnly)

First it gives me a "Runtime error 5" message (only get that when I run from the CD and only since I added the readOnly parameter) and then after the OpenDatabase it goes to my error handler.

Hello,

The problem is that when an Access database is opened, it creates a lock file in the same directory. If you don't have write access to the directory, it will always fail. The other problem that I see is that they will not be able to write to the database at any time.

An alternative is to use a network share that they have read/write access to.

Also, I'm confused as to why they would need to have admin rights on their PC. In order to run an app, you only need user level access. The installation will still have to be done by a local admin in order to register the installation.

Thanks for the info so far macleod1021,