Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can you ever trust the Search in Windows 7 ? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

aking

Technical User
Aug 11, 2002
GB
First of all i must say please don't reply and tell me 'tick the box for show all files and folders' - i've tried that.

Background: I recently upgraded the office workstations from XP to Windows7. Since then i've had difficulty with the new windows search. Today i gave up on it and downloaded SearchMyFiles - which solved the problem in about 30 seconds. BUT, i would still like to be able to use windows search as I am a sysadmin and am always on new machines.

Today i was looking for a file with 'op_' in the name somewhere. I already have files and folders with those names in the c:\users\appdata folder structure and in c:\program files. I knew the file I was looking for would also be called 'op_' (it's a log file) so i searched on 'op_' throughout the whole c drive. But no files at all came up with windows search!
Next I selected a folder underneath 'appdata' where i knew there were some 'op_' folders and searched again then sure enough it found the 'op_' folders, but when i focused on any folder higher then it says '0 items'.
A search function that only finds files or folders when you are already in the right folder? - This can't be right?

I have tried the search trouble-shooting, I have 'show hidden files, folders and drives' selected on the View tab. I have 'Always search file names and contents' and 'Don't use the index when searching in file folder for system files' on the Search tab.