Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can we have multiple Oracle databases per Server?

Status
Not open for further replies.

irshad

Technical User
Jan 17, 2001
US
Hi,

I know in Microsoft SQL Server we can have multiple "databases" on the same SQL "Server".

Is this possible in Oracle?
I am using Oracle 8.1.5 on Solaris 8.

Thanks, (sorry for the dumb question, I am new to this)
Irshad Ahmed

In a word "yes". Use database assistant to create as many databases as your server will support. Of course you will need sufficient memory and disk space, and enough idle CPU to handle the extra load on the system.

Hi karluk,

Thank you.
What is database assistant? Is it a command-line program or a GUI? (I am using Oracle 8i on Sun Solaris 8)

Thanks,
Irshad

irshad -

Keep in mind that "databases" in SQLServer is kind of equivalent
to Schemas in Oracle. (although interestingly Microsoft says they
are kind of equivalent to tablespaces?). You can have multiple
schemas on one database within Oracle, just as you would have
multiple databases on one SQLServer. Confused yet?

There are articles on both Oracle's and Microsoft's tech sites about
migrating to the authors product from the competitors. If you had
to read just one, I'd read Oracle's, but it is kinda fun to compare the
the two.

If you wanted to keep applications seperated so that maintenance
and so forth on one instance did not effect the other, than it might
make sense to run multiple instances on one server. IMHO it would
make more sense in that case to run multiple instances on different
servers.

Good luck,

Bob