Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can we assign 1 system.mdw file to a DB on a network?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pnsmack

Programmer
Feb 12, 2002
US
Good Afternoon Everyone,

I'm Paul, I'm new to this service, and it looks like a tremendous resource ! Thanks in advance for your help.

Here's my situation :
-------------------------------
I have an MS Access 2000 DB, and I've followed all of the standard "Secure An Access DB" steps--- I've created a separate .mdw file, changed the password for the user "Admin", imported all of the objects as the new "Admins group" user so that all of the objects are owned by the new administrator (not the user "Admin").

Our network is set up such that each client has MS Access installed on their own computer, and therefore each user has their own ".mdw" file and launches MS Access from their own computer.

What I'd like to know is this : How do we force ALL network users to use the workgroup information file that I've created solely for this database, and NOT use their own ".mdw" file ? Is this even possible ? For some reason, the workgroup information file applies to me from my computer, but when other folks open the database, they get logged in as default user "Admin", so I think that the database is letting them in with their own ".mdw" file. I've changed the password for "Admin", so at the very least I was expecting Access to pop up a "Enter Password:" box, but no dice. They just get logged in as user "Admin" and there is no password prompting whatsoever.