Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can Javascript read/check .txt file or windows registry?

Status
Not open for further replies.

janicefoo

Programmer
Apr 17, 2003
MY
Dear Gurus and members,

I am a newbie in JavaScript. I developed an e-learning website using mostly Flash MX 2004 and ActionScript 1.0. I plan to create a record/playback plugin using media control interface (MCI). The plugin is a one time installation. During the installation, the installer will store a value in the user's window registry. In that way, whenever user clicks on the record/playback button, it will check the user's window registry for the value. If it exists, it will display the record/playback pop up window. Otherwise, it will request the user to download the plugin before proceeding.

Is there any sample codes in checking for the registry value, prompting message if value does not exist?

If Javascript can't do that, is there any alternative method to do so? If the plug-in download stores a .txt file in the user's computer instead of a value in the registry, is it possible for Javascript to check the existance of the .txt file instead? How does the codes look like?

Summary:
1.How to write the Javascript that checks the existance of a value in the registry or the existance of a txt file in the user's pc?

2. How to write the if-else statement whereby, if the registry value exists, it will run the MCI record/playback plugin; otherwise, it will prompt a message to request user to download the plugin?

Hope to hear some reply soon as it is urgent. Thanks in advance!

Cheers,
Janice

I don't think that JavaScript is allowed to do that (read from the registry)