Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Callers in queue sometimes don't get announcements 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

captnamo

Technical User
Feb 2, 2006
US
Greetings! I'm an accountant turned telecom guy morphed to part-time AACC guy. I don't script.

One of our Contact Center (CC) applications is our IT Service Desk. All callers get an initial greeting (Your call may be recorded . . . .) and then caller goes to ready agent or to queue. If they land in the queue, they get an announcement that indicates "all agents are busy, stay on the line" and then the call goes to music on hold. Other messages play after 45 secs. of wait time.

We have other little pockets of call center (District Court - 3 locations, Friend of the Court, etc.) installed and scripted by AT&T and, for the most part, have been working fine for several years. We've had occasional recurring issue of callers going right to music on hold when they go to queue and not hearing either the initial greeting nor the secondary or any of the other greetings. But, try it later and it's working just fine.

Does anyone know if this would be expected behavior if all the voice ports on the Call Pilot voicemail system (which supplies the greetings) were busy for some reason? Anyone have any other theories as to why this might happen?

Thanks in advance for your wisdom and insight.

Yes, if the voiceports are busy, you can expect this kind of experience.

Voice services acting flaky also provide this kind of behavior...if you don't do anything and it works again then you can rule out the voice services issue.