Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Call manager in the Win2k AD design

Status
Not open for further replies.

dddtran

Technical User
Aug 31, 2001
US
I am new with the call manager 3.2. I was wondering what type win2k role does the call manager get installed into..ie..do we install the server as a member server, domain controller and if so, is it part of the current AD domain or do you create a different domain and stick all the CCM in that. How does it intergrate with AD users? What would be a typicall small network design look like with a AD domain, a CCM supporting 100 ip phones? Thanks for your help.

D

Think you should read the design guides but..
The callmanager runs w2k but is a standalone server unless you configure it to run as a cluster member with more than 1 callmanager in one cluster. You can install a ad plugin onto the callmanager, this will help you manage the dc users from the callmanager in the central domain.
I don't think you can install a w2k dc with callmanager software, is not supported I think (you should check).

Hope this helps,

Simon

"Read the design guides" - heh... that's a good one Simon! Unless you work for Cisco of course...

I spent way too long looking for informative documents on this issue on the Cisco website, and that was with PICA access to the TAC knowledge base. D, if you need help designing a Call Manager cluster integrated with AD, then make sure you go straight to Cisco for advice - and I mean in person. Don't trust the (often out of date or simply misleading) documents you'll find on the CCO :(