Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Calculations using Merge Fields

Status
Not open for further replies.

rayna

Programmer
Sep 24, 2001
CA
This is probably a terribly basic question, but I am very new to Word merge.

If I need a field in a Word Document called "Guaranteed_People" and my query contains <<guaranteed_adults>> and <<guaranteed_children>>, is there some sort of Sum() function I can use to get the result I need, or can you just simply add them together somehow?

I have looked at the Word help, and searched the Internet, so I suspect it either can't be done, or is so easy that no one can be bothered to write it down!!

Thanks in advance!
Rayna

Man plans. God laughs.

rayna,
Anyone who puts a closing remark (and hopefully means it) like that one is okay in my book and deserves at least one response. I don't quite understand what you desire from your output here. In a mail merge Word produces one "document" of the type you stipulate for each item in your listing for a letter, email message, envelope, etc. Thus any total you would receive would be 1 for each document if at all possible. I believe only the Catalog option might produce what you want as Word doesn't use "fields" in this manner. Further there is no real option for adding items in Word other than in tables and counting text items.