Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Calculating totals in a form based on check boxes.

Status
Not open for further replies.

con10t

Technical User
Aug 2, 2002
US
Good morning! I am a newbie, so please bear with me. I am creating a form that lists the costs associated with a candidate. Some of these costs we pass on to our clients, some costs we pay for. I have a subform that allows the user to list each item (travel, test materials, off-site office space, etc.) separately and fill in a dollar amount. I am able to give our accountant the total costs related to the candidate simply by using =Sum([CostAmount]). But she would like to be able to also have an OurExpense check box. If this box were checked that amount would be subtracted from the total; then she could invoice the bottom line. How do I create an expression for that or do I need to create a query? Thanks, in advance for all your help! DC

=dlookup("CostAmount","tablename","OurExpense=false")

Try this:
=Sum(IIF(cbOurExpense,[CostAmount],0))

Ken

Thanks for trying. I must be typing something in incorrectly. When I try pwise's suggestion the total in the Billable Expense is always $15.00 regardless of which candidate I am viewing--some have no costs, others have hundreds of dollars.

When I try kewo99's suggestion, both the Total box and the Billable Expense box has a #Error in it. (If I make the Billable Expense box Unbound, then the Total box functions fine again.)

(The totals are transferred from the subform to a form where they can be viewed)