Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

C# Exceptions

Status
Not open for further replies.

komyg

Programmer
Dec 13, 2005
BR
Hello, I am new to C#, but I've had some Java experience.

In java you can write a method, throw an exception in it and with a "throws" clause let the method that called it handle the thrown exception, for example:

Code:
public void myMethod1()
{
   try
   {
      myMethod2();
   }
   catch(MyException e)
   {
      // Handle Exception
   }
}

public void myMethod2() throws MyException
{
   throw new MyException("message!");
}

Is there a similar structure in C# to propagate the exception, or do I have to write a try/catch block into every method that the exception must come through and rethrow the exception at each catch block?

For example:

Code:
public void myMethod1()
{
   try
   {
      myMethod2();
   }
   catch(MyException e)
   {
      // Handle exception
   }
}

public void myMethod2() throws MyException
{
   try
   {
      myMethod3();
   }
   catch(MyException e)
   {
      throw new MyException("message!", e);
   }
}

public void myMethod3()
{
   try
   {
      throw new MyException("message!");
   }
   catch(MyException e)
   {
      throw new MyException("message!", e);
   }
}

Thanks,
Komyg

you can throw an excpetion anywhere like this
Code:
throw new Exception("foo");
if you want wrap an exception
Code:
try
{
}
catch(Exception e)
{
   throw new MyException("foo", e);
}
or you can process an exception and rethrow
Code:
try
{
}
catch(Exception e)
{
   Log.For(this).Error(e.ToString(), e);
   throw;
}

Jason Meckley
Programmer
Specialty Bakers, Inc.