Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Business Intelligence/Dashboards Career?

Status
Not open for further replies.

waterg2

Technical User
Aug 10, 2011
US
I have approximately 12 years of experience in Crystal Reports. I’ve taking several programming courses and gravitate towards writing formulas and SQL scripts. I have also worked with Cognos and taken several courses.

I’m interested in taking some classes to expand my knowledge in the area of Business Intelligence/Dashboard, but would like to get a better sense of what that profession entails.

I should mention I do not have a degree, but have taken many courses to expand my knowledge in specific areas to further my career. If I move forward with taking courses I would go through SAP….but I’m also open to suggestions.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Waterg2

Dashboards typically include summary statistics and KPI, Key Performance Indicators. This implies that you would either have knowledge about the business or work closely with a BA who has knowledge of the business. If you don't have business knowledge and need to work with a BA, then you must bring strong dashboard skills to the table. Expertise in Ease of Use, Drill Down and Across, ETL and Disparate Data Sources, and other things like that. I'm not a Dashboard person, but I know enough to pass on what I did. Suggest you do an internet search. Also, sometimes some vendors supply dashboard training. However, much of their dashboard training will be product specific. I think there is at least one book on the subject as well, do a search on the net or at Amazon.

==================================